Skip to content

Buyer's guide · Updated September 2026

The 2026 guide to volunteer management software

A deep look at 16 widely used volunteer management platforms and one screening provider — what each does best, who it's for, what it publishes about price, and how it handles background checks. No hype, no single "winner" — just an honest map of the category and the one thing almost every buyer overlooks.

16 platforms + a screening provider Prices as published September 12, 2026 Quote-only prices never estimated

Choosing volunteer management software is harder than it should be. The category spans free sign-up sheets and enterprise platforms; pricing is often hidden behind "request a quote"; and the marketing copy across vendors blurs together. This guide profiles each product on its own terms, using only what the vendor publishes: every price is as published on September 12, 2026, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so rather than guess. VolunteerBadge publishes this guide and sells a screening product that competes with some of these vendors; how we researched it is at the end.

Two structural facts shape the whole market. First, it is consolidating: in March 2026, Better Impact acquired Galaxy Digital (Get Connected), bringing Volunteer Impact and Get Connected under one owner. Bloomerang relaunched InitLive as Bloomerang Volunteer in 2023, and Momentive Software bought VolunteerMatters in 2025. Second — and this is the point most buying guides miss — most general volunteer management systems don't run background checks themselves.They hand the volunteer to a separate screening company, usually on its own account and invoice, and few publish what a check costs. We'll return to why that matters at the end.

What to weigh before you compare products

Before comparing products, decide what matters to your program. These criteria follow the buyer's checklist in our free guide Apples to Apples, which draws on Idealware and TechSoup, the CCVA competency framework, and FTC data-security guidance:

1. Total cost at your size

Price the plan at your volunteer and admin counts, now and next year, including set-up fees, the add-ons you would need and the contract length. Vendors charge per record, per active volunteer, per admin, per event or per check, so sticker prices rarely compare.

2. Ease of use for coordinators and volunteers

Can a part-time coordinator set it up? How do applying, signing and logging hours feel on a phone? A tool both sides can navigate beats a more powerful one nobody adopts.

3. Self-scheduling and automated reminders

If volunteers can claim shifts and get automatic reminders, coordinator workload drops. Check whether texting is included or an add-on; many platforms charge extra for it.

4. Hour tracking and volunteer profiles

The usual reason organizations outgrow free sign-up tools: once you need a history per volunteer, you need a real system. Some sign-up tools keep hours tracking for their top plan.

5. Integrations and your data

CSV export at minimum, an API if you will integrate, and a clear answer on what happens to your records if you leave. If you already run a church or donor database, check its volunteer features first.

6. Security and accessibility evidence

Ask for a SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report and whose it is (the company's or its hosting provider's), plus a VPAT or accessibility statement. Published evidence is uneven across the category.

7. Background screening

Is the check built in, run by a partner, or only tracked? What does the package search, does status sync back, and does it meet any check your state, licensor or national organization names? It is the area of greatest legal exposure when volunteers work with children or vulnerable adults.

Free vs. paid: when do you actually need to upgrade?

A surprising amount of volunteer management runs perfectly well on free tools. If your needs are "let people sign up for shifts and remind them," a free sign-up tool or even a well-built spreadsheet and a shared calendar will do the job without a contract or a learning curve. Several platforms in this guide (POINT, Golden, Timecounts, SignUp.com, SignUpGenius) publish permanent free plans, Track it Forward is free for groups under 25 volunteers, and Salesforce donates 10 licenses to eligible nonprofits through Power of Us.

You generally know it's time to pay when three things become painful at once: you can no longer keep track of whoyour volunteers are (you need profiles and history, not just sign-up lists); you're spending hours each week on scheduling and reminders that should be automated; and you need real reporting — hours served, retention, impact — for your board, your grants, or your annual report. Those are the capabilities that justify a paid plan, and they're exactly what you lose by stretching a free sign-up sheet past its purpose.

When you do upgrade, watch the pricing model as closely as the price. Per-volunteer pricing deserves a hard look, because it rises with the very thing you're trying to do — recruit more volunteers. Flat or banded pricing keeps costs predictable as you grow; CERVIS, Golden, and POINT, for example, don't charge by volunteer count on any plan. And whatever you choose, confirm you can export your own data cleanly before you commit.

Comparison table: every platform at a glance

A side-by-side view of best fit, published pricing, free plans, and how each product handles background checks. Each name links to the vendor's official site. Every price is as published on September 12, 2026; "quote-only" means the vendor publishes no price, and we don't estimate one. Prices change, so always confirm current figures with the vendor.

PlatformBest forPricing (September 12, 2026)Free planBackground checks
Volgistics Hospitals, hospices and public programs wanting low, transparent entry pricingFully published and modular: from $9/mo for 50 records to $2,242/mo for 100,000; two operators included, then $10 each; portal/app and kiosk modules from $3 each; no setup fees
30-day trial
Partner integration
Verified First, via a browser extension; results aren't written back
Better Impact (Volunteer Impact) Hospitals, universities, cities and multi-site nonprofits wanting one mature systemQuote-only. Foundation (3 admins), Growth (10) and Impact (unlimited) plans, billed on accepted and inactive profiles, not applicants or archived records
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers (U.S., two-way) or Verified First (one-way), on Growth and up
Get Connected by Galaxy Digital Volunteer centers, United Ways and multi-agency networksQuote-only across Shift, Sustain, Amplify, Center and Campus
Trial (Shift)
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers, with status and renewals synced
VolunteerHub Mid-to-large programs that want deep Blackbaud or Salesforce linksPlus from $143/mo and Pro from $288/mo, billed annually, plus a set-up fee whose amount isn't published; Enterprise by quote
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers and PeopleFacts integrations; the volunteer may be asked to pay
Bloomerang Volunteer (formerly InitLive) Nonprofits that want volunteers synced with a donor CRMFrom $119/mo, billed annually; the page is unclear on whether it can be bought without Bloomerang's donor CRM
Partner integration
Verified First, launched inside the product; no per-check price published
POINT A generous free plan with a consumer-style volunteer appFree (unlimited volunteers and admins); Pro $99/mo billed annually ($140 monthly); Teams (beta) $199; Network by quote
Partner integration
Checkr, from $12.99 a check at POINT's rate, on Pro
SignUpGenius Schools, PTAs, churches and event sign-upsFree with ads; Silver $8.99, Gold $22.49 and Platinum $44.99 a month billed annually ($107.89, $269.89 and $539.89 a year); Enterprise custom
With ads
None found
Sign-up tool; pair it with a screening provider
SignUp.com (formerly VolunteerSpot) Schools, PTAs, community and faith groupsFree; Starter $99.99, Plus $249.99 and Max $499.99 a year; Campus (K-12) from $99/yr; Organization $599.99/yr for 25 Max-level seats
None found
Sign-up tool; pair it with a screening provider
Golden (Golden Volunteer) Small teams wanting a free plan, and corporate or multi-location programsBasic free (5 admins, unlimited volunteers); Professional $100/mo billed annually ($110 monthly); Enterprise custom
Built in
Built in: $20 a check ($25 with a driving record), via unnamed providers
Timecounts Small and mid-sized programs where volunteers clear steps before a shiftFree (one admin); Pro $79/mo billed annually or $89 monthly (the same page also shows an older $59 price)
One admin
Partner integration
Checkr, on every plan (U.S. and Canada); package prices not readable
VolunteerLocal Event-driven organizations: festivals, races, conferencesDiscover $600/yr and Grow $2,400/yr; one-off events $200, $800 or $3,000; unlimited volunteer records
Trial
Built in
Built in: 7-year criminal search, SSN validation, registry and watchlist; price not published
Track it Forward Hour tracking for schools, churches and small nonprofitsFree under 25 volunteers; at 100 users, Basic $13.25, Premium $25 and Advanced $37 a month (billing basis not shown)
Under 25 volunteers
None found
Hours tracker; pair it with a screening provider
CERVIS Programs wanting flat pricing with unlimited volunteers and adminsBasic $25, Standard $120 and Premier $200 a month, each with unlimited volunteers and admins; Enterprise by quote; billing term not stated
Partner integration
Backgrounds Online, in the Enterprise edition
Civic Champs Automated check-in, paying only for active volunteersBy active volunteers, billed annually: $49/mo (1–49) to $174/mo (1,000–1,499), plus unlabeled $199 and $399 figures; the page says pricing is updating soon
None found
Tracks documents; the check happens elsewhere
Rosterfy Large events and big public-sector programsQuote-only; by its own account built for programs with 100 or more volunteers
Partner integration
Asurint, its only confirmed U.S. check partner
Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud Organizations already standardized on SalesforceEnterprise $60 or Unlimited $100 per user a month on an annual contract; eligible nonprofits get 10 free licenses (Power of Us)
10 donated licenses
Partner integration
Third-party apps
Sterling Volunteers Background checks that many of the platforms above integrate withAdvanced $19 and Complete $39 per check, plus a set-up fee and pass-through court fees; unpublished volume pricing above 500 checks a year
Screening provider
Screening is its whole product

"Built in" means the check runs inside the platform's own workflow; "Partner integration" means the volunteer is sent to a separate screening company, usually on its own account. "None found" means we found no check option on the vendor's pages, which isn't proof of absence. A trial or donated licenses don't count as a free plan.

Cover of Apples to Apples

Free whitepaper PDF

Apples to Apples: an honest 2026 guide to volunteer management software, VolunteerBadge included

Twenty-six volunteer platforms and church systems set side by side on published prices, free plans and background-check partners, with the yearly cost at three program sizes and a plain list of where our own product falls short.

Get the free guide

Platform-by-platform analysis

Each profile below covers what the platform is best at, who it suits, what it publishes about price, and who runs its background checks, with the vendor pages we read listed underneath. Where a vendor's own pages disagree, or a page wouldn't render, we say so plainly rather than pick a number.

Volgistics

Visit site

Volgistics, Inc. · private, Michigan · a web product since 2004

Best for
Hospitals, hospices and public programs wanting low, transparent entry pricing
Pricing
Fully published and modular: from $9/mo for 50 records to $2,242/mo for 100,000; two operators included, then $10 each; portal/app and kiosk modules from $3 each; no setup fees
Background checks
Partner integration
Verified First, via a browser extension; results aren't written back

Volgistics is one of the longest-running dedicated volunteer systems, sold as a web product since 2004 by a private Michigan company. It publishes the most transparent price list we found: the monthly fee is built from the number of volunteer records you keep, the operators (staff logins) you need, and the modules you switch on, so a small program can start cheaply and scale up only as it grows.

The published list runs from $9 a month for 50 records to $2,242 a month for 100,000. Two operators are included and each additional one is $10; the VicNet volunteer portal and app (with unlimited texting) and the VicTouch kiosk start at $3 each, and there are no setup fees. That suits hospitals, hospices, cities and other public programs that want to see the full cost before a sales call.

The trade-off is that modules add up, and we found no SOC 2 claim or public API on its pages. Background checks run through Verified First via a browser extension, billed separately, and results are not written back to the volunteer record.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: volgistics.com price list, price calculator, about, security and "Background Screening With Verified First" pages.

Better Impact (Volunteer Impact)

Visit site

Better Impact · private-equity backed · acquired Galaxy Digital in March 2026

Best for
Hospitals, universities, cities and multi-site nonprofits wanting one mature system
Pricing
Quote-only. Foundation (3 admins), Growth (10) and Impact (unlimited) plans, billed on accepted and inactive profiles, not applicants or archived records
Background checks
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers (U.S., two-way) or Verified First (one-way), on Growth and up

Volunteer Impact, from Better Impact, is one of the category's most established platforms, and in March 2026 Better Impact acquired Galaxy Digital, maker of Get Connected. Better Impact is backed by the private-equity firm The Brydon Group, and the two platforms operate independently "at this time."

For larger or compliance-minded programs, its strengths are breadth and published evidence: native training with quizzes and certifications, an ISO 27001 claim, a WCAG 2.1 AA accessibility statement (partial conformance), Canadian data residency and a native app. Hospital volunteer departments, universities, public programs and multi-site nonprofits tend to shortlist it.

Pricing is quote-only, so a demo and quote are required. Its Foundation, Growth and Impact plans are billed on accepted and inactive profiles, not on applicants or archived records. Texting, background checks and training need Growth or above; the API and single sign-on need Impact. Checks run through Sterling Volunteers (U.S., two-way) or Verified First (one-way).

Sources, read September 12, 2026: betterimpact.com pricing, accessibility and feature pages; Better Impact help article on background checks; PRWeb acquisition release (March 11, 2026) and Better Impact–Galaxy Digital FAQ.

Get Connected by Galaxy Digital

Visit site

Galaxy Digital · part of Better Impact since March 2026 · owns HandsOn Connect

Best for
Volunteer centers, United Ways and multi-agency networks
Pricing
Quote-only across Shift, Sustain, Amplify, Center and Campus
Background checks
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers, with status and renewals synced

Get Connected is built for brokering volunteers across many partner agencies at once, which makes it a natural fit for volunteer centers, United Ways and community networks. Galaxy Digital, its maker, acquired HandsOn Connect in 2024 and was itself acquired by Better Impact in March 2026; the companies say each platform operates independently for now.

Its published strengths include guardian e-signature for minors, an app in every product and a published VPAT (accessibility conformance report). Background checks run through Sterling Volunteers, with status and renewals synced back.

Pricing is quote-only across its Shift, Sustain, Amplify, Center and Campus products; Shift offers a free trial. Support is email-first, and we found no published post-acquisition roadmap, so ask for the roadmap, migration terms and price commitments in writing.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: galaxydigital.com product and feature pages; "Galaxy Digital Acquires HandsOn Connect" (Feb. 27, 2024); Get Connected help article on ADA compliance and VPAT; Better Impact–Galaxy Digital FAQ.

VolunteerHub

Visit site

BetterGood (formerly Carr Engineering) · roots it traces to 1996

Best for
Mid-to-large programs that want deep Blackbaud or Salesforce links
Pricing
Plus from $143/mo and Pro from $288/mo, billed annually, plus a set-up fee whose amount isn't published; Enterprise by quote
Background checks
Partner integration
Sterling Volunteers and PeopleFacts integrations; the volunteer may be asked to pay

VolunteerHub, now part of BetterGood (formerly Carr Engineering), traces its roots to 1996 by its own account. It sells annual tiers rather than a published per-volunteer rate: Plus from $143 a month and Pro from $288 a month, billed annually, plus a set-up fee whose amount is not published, with Enterprise by quote. The pricing page does not state volunteer limits per plan, so confirm what your count buys.

Its strengths are deep Blackbaud and Salesforce integrations, texting on every tier and native apps, which suit mid-to-large nonprofits that already live in one of those CRMs.

The trade-off is that many features are paid options on the lower tiers, and a check-in kiosk is an add-on. Background checks run through Sterling Volunteers and PeopleFacts integrations, and the volunteer may be asked to pay for their own check.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: volunteerhub.com pricing, about, mobile app, text messaging and integrations pages; VolunteerHub support articles on the Sterling Volunteers and PeopleFacts integrations.

Bloomerang Volunteer (formerly InitLive)

Visit site

Bloomerang · acquired InitLive in 2023

Best for
Nonprofits that want volunteers synced with a donor CRM
Pricing
From $119/mo, billed annually; the page is unclear on whether it can be bought without Bloomerang's donor CRM
Background checks
Partner integration
Verified First, launched inside the product; no per-check price published

Bloomerang acquired InitLive in 2023 and relaunched it as Bloomerang Volunteer, the volunteer side of Bloomerang's donor CRM.

Its published strengths are native two-way sync with that donor CRM, shift sign-up and mobile check-in, texting, a SOC 2 Type 2 claim, and a WCAG 2.2 AA accessibility statement backed by a third-party report. That suits organizations that want volunteers and donors in one ecosystem.

It starts at $119 a month, billed annually; the pricing page is unclear on whether it can be bought without the donor CRM, so ask. Bloomerang does not run the checks itself: they go through Verified First, launched from inside the product, and no per-check price is published.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: bloomerang.com pricing, Volunteer, company timeline, Verified First integration, security policy and accessibility pages.

POINT Global and POINT Technologies · U.S. and Ukraine nonprofits only

Best for
A generous free plan with a consumer-style volunteer app
Pricing
Free (unlimited volunteers and admins); Pro $99/mo billed annually ($140 monthly); Teams (beta) $199; Network by quote
Background checks
Partner integration
Checkr, from $12.99 a check at POINT's rate, on Pro

POINT pairs a genuinely generous free plan, with unlimited volunteers and admins, with a consumer app where people discover opportunities, which gives smaller nonprofits a modern volunteer experience without an upfront cost. It is open to U.S. and Ukraine nonprofits only.

Pro costs $99 a month billed annually ($140 month to month), Teams (in beta) is $199, and Network, for coordinating bodies, is by quote. Kiosk check-in and texting are add-ons, and it syncs with DonorPerfect. Pricing is published clearly.

Background checks run through Checkr, from $12.99 a check at POINT's rate, on the Pro plan, and can trigger automatically when a volunteer signs up. Pass-through fees are extra.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: pointapp.org pricing, background checks, compare-features and integrations pages.

SignUpGenius

Visit site

SignUpGenius, Inc.

Best for
Schools, PTAs, churches and event sign-ups
Pricing
Free with ads; Silver $8.99, Gold $22.49 and Platinum $44.99 a month billed annually ($107.89, $269.89 and $539.89 a year); Enterprise custom
Background checks
None found
Sign-up tool; pair it with a screening provider

SignUpGenius is, by design, a sign-up tool rather than a full volunteer management system, and that focus is why it is so widely used. Schools and PTAs, churches, small nonprofits and event organizers reach for it because the free plan is usable and there is almost no learning curve.

Paid plans are Silver at $8.99 a month billed annually ($11.99 month to month), Gold at $22.49 and Platinum at $44.99, with Enterprise by quote. Older prices are still widely repeated online and no longer match the live page. It supports payments and has a public API, and it is mobile-web first, though an app-store app also exists.

Organizations that need volunteer profiles, hour histories or screening will eventually outgrow it, and it runs no background checks. Many programs use it happily for years and only move to a dedicated system when those needs arrive.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: signupgenius.com pricing, "How to choose a plan," about and mobile-web blog pages.

SignUp.com (formerly VolunteerSpot)

Visit site

Formerly VolunteerSpot

Best for
Schools, PTAs, community and faith groups
Pricing
Free; Starter $99.99, Plus $249.99 and Max $499.99 a year; Campus (K-12) from $99/yr; Organization $599.99/yr for 25 Max-level seats
Background checks
None found
Sign-up tool; pair it with a screening provider

SignUp.com (formerly VolunteerSpot) covers similar ground to SignUpGenius: self-service sign-ups for recurring shifts and events, popular with schools, PTAs, and community and faith groups. It has a free plan and the lowest paid tiers in its segment, all priced by the year.

Text reminders come with every paid level: Starter at $99.99, Plus at $249.99 and Max at $499.99 a year. A Campus plan for K-12 starts at $99 a year, and an Organization plan covers 25 Max-level seats for $599.99 a year.

Hours tracking is available only on Max, the waiver is a checkbox agreement, and it runs no background checks, so organizations that need profiles, screening or detailed reporting will pair it with other tools or move on.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: signup.com pricing, organization plan, about and help-center premium-features pages.

Golden (Golden Volunteer)

Visit site

Independent · founded 2015

Best for
Small teams wanting a free plan, and corporate or multi-location programs
Pricing
Basic free (5 admins, unlimited volunteers); Professional $100/mo billed annually ($110 monthly); Enterprise custom
Background checks
Built in
Built in: $20 a check ($25 with a driving record), via unnamed providers

Golden takes a consumer-app approach to volunteering and offers unlimited volunteers on every plan, including its permanent free Basic plan (up to five admins). Professional costs $100 a month billed annually ($110 month to month), and Enterprise is custom.

Its published strengths include native apps, two-way Salesforce sync and a SOC 2 Type II claim announced in November 2025. API access is an add-on.

Unusually for a general platform, Golden builds background checks in: $20 a check ($25 with a driving record), through providers it doesn't name, paid by the organization or the volunteer and reusable across Golden for a year. The organization sees the status, not the report. Its pricing page conflicts on whether checks come with the free plan, and the volunteer uploads a photo ID; we found no live-selfie match on its pages.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: goldenvolunteer.com pricing and background-check pages; Golden knowledge-base article on background checks and motor vehicle records; "Golden achieves SOC 2 compliance" (Nov. 14, 2025).

Timecounts

Visit site

Independent · founded 2012

Best for
Small and mid-sized programs where volunteers clear steps before a shift
Pricing
Free (one admin); Pro $79/mo billed annually or $89 monthly (the same page also shows an older $59 price)
Background checks
Partner integration
Checkr, on every plan (U.S. and Canada); package prices not readable

Timecounts, an independent platform founded in 2012, has a permanent free plan for one admin and a Pro plan at $79 a month billed annually or $89 month to month, for up to 15 admins. Its pricing page also still shows an older $59 price and 2024 copy, so confirm the current figure.

Its published strengths are applications with qualification gating, expiring checklists and a shared team inbox, which suit programs where volunteers must clear steps before they can take a shift.

Texting is an add-on, the kiosk comes with Pro or as a $49-a-month add-on, and we found no native volunteer app. Background checks run through Checkr on every plan in the U.S. and Canada; the package prices appear only as images we could not read.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: join.timecounts.app pricing, our story and feature pages; Timecounts help articles on the Checkr integration.

VolunteerLocal

Visit site

Independent · scheduling-first

Best for
Event-driven organizations: festivals, races, conferences
Pricing
Discover $600/yr and Grow $2,400/yr; one-off events $200, $800 or $3,000; unlimited volunteer records
Background checks
Built in
Built in: 7-year criminal search, SSN validation, registry and watchlist; price not published

VolunteerLocal publishes its prices openly, which is a real convenience in a category dominated by "request a quote": Discover at $600 a year, Grow at $2,400 a year, and one-off event plans at $200, $800 or $3,000. Every plan has unlimited volunteer records. Discover includes two admin seats and charges $200 each for vetting, hours tracking and group tools.

It is built around scheduling and registration, with 10,000 texts a year on Discover, QR and kiosk check-in, a native app, and links to Salesforce, Little Green Light, DonorPerfect and Neon. Festivals, races and conferences are its sweet spot.

It is one of the few platforms that builds a background check in: a 7-year criminal search, SSN validation, a sex-offender registry search and a terrorist watchlist check. The check price isn't published, and on Discover vetting is a $200 add-on. Verified First also publishes a VolunteerLocal integration page.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: volunteerlocal.com pricing, background screens, integrations, hours and attendance, mobile app and waivers pages; Verified First VolunteerLocal partner page.

Track it Forward

Visit site

Independent · hours-tracking-first

Best for
Hour tracking for schools, churches and small nonprofits
Pricing
Free under 25 volunteers; at 100 users, Basic $13.25, Premium $25 and Advanced $37 a month (billing basis not shown)
Background checks
None found
Hours tracker; pair it with a screening provider

Track it Forward is built around one of the most common volunteer-program needs: logging and verifying hours. Hours can be verified by GPS, photo or signature and logged offline, it offers school integrations, and it publishes a WCAG 2.1 AA accessibility statement (partial conformance).

It is free for groups under 25 volunteers. Paid plans are priced by active users; at the pricing calculator's default of 100 users, Basic is $13.25, Premium $25 and Advanced $37 a month, and the page doesn't show the billing basis.

It is intentionally narrow, focused on tracking and scheduling rather than end-to-end recruitment and screening, and we found no background-check option. Organizations that need the full lifecycle will use it alongside a broader tool.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: trackitforward.com pricing, features, security and accessibility-statement pages.

CERVIS Technologies · Colorado

Best for
Programs wanting flat pricing with unlimited volunteers and admins
Pricing
Basic $25, Standard $120 and Premier $200 a month, each with unlimited volunteers and admins; Enterprise by quote; billing term not stated
Background checks
Partner integration
Backgrounds Online, in the Enterprise edition

CERVIS, from Colorado-based CERVIS Technologies, sells flat plans with unlimited volunteers and admins on every tier, so growth never triggers a per-volunteer charge: Basic at $25, Standard at $120 and Premier at $200 a month, with Enterprise by quote. The pricing page does not state the billing term, and we found no free plan.

Hours tracking needs Standard or above. The Enterprise edition adds Salesforce and Raiser's Edge integrations, which matters for nonprofits already running one of those donor systems.

Background checks are listed in the Enterprise edition through Backgrounds Online, whose CERVIS partner page lists packages from $7.95 to $54.95 plus county fees. Confirm which edition you need before comparing prices.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: cervistech.info home, enterprise edition and background-check support articles; Backgrounds Online CERVIS partner page.

Civic Champs

Visit site

Public benefit corporation · founded 2019

Best for
Automated check-in, paying only for active volunteers
Pricing
By active volunteers, billed annually: $49/mo (1–49) to $174/mo (1,000–1,499), plus unlabeled $199 and $399 figures; the page says pricing is updating soon
Background checks
None found
Tracks documents; the check happens elsewhere

Civic Champs, a public benefit corporation founded in 2019, centers on automated check-in, with geofenced and kiosk check-in and a native app, so hour tracking largely takes care of itself. It offers unlimited admins and an included Little Green Light link.

It prices by active volunteers, billed annually, from $49 a month for 1–49 active volunteers to $174 a month for 1,000–1,499, so costs follow real use. The pricing page also shows unlabeled $199 and $399 figures and says pricing is updating soon, so confirm the current figures.

For screening, it tracks documents only; we found no background-check provider integration, so the check itself happens elsewhere.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: civicchamps.com pricing, about, features and nonprofits pages.

Rosterfy

Visit site

Independent · Melbourne, Australia

Best for
Large events and big public-sector programs
Pricing
Quote-only; by its own account built for programs with 100 or more volunteers
Background checks
Partner integration
Asurint, its only confirmed U.S. check partner

Rosterfy, an independent company based in Melbourne, Australia, works at the enterprise end of the market and is strongest at large events. By its own account it is built for programs with 100 or more volunteers.

Its published evidence is unusually broad for the category: SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 claims, regional data hosting, QR and geofenced check-in, SCORM training that can gate who takes a shift, and a candid WCAG 2.2 AA accessibility statement.

Pricing is quote-only, and it is not aimed at small programs. For U.S. background checks, Asurint is the only partner we could confirm on its pages.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: rosterfy.com pricing, integrations, volunteer app, online training, accessibility and data-security pages.

Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud

Visit site

Salesforce, Inc. · Volunteer Management included in Nonprofit Cloud

Best for
Organizations already standardized on Salesforce
Pricing
Enterprise $60 or Unlimited $100 per user a month on an annual contract; eligible nonprofits get 10 free licenses (Power of Us)
Background checks
Partner integration
Third-party apps

Salesforce includes Volunteer Management in Nonprofit Cloud, priced at $60 per user a month for Enterprise or $100 for Unlimited, on an annual contract. Eligible nonprofits can receive 10 free licenses through the Power of Us program.

For organizations already on Salesforce, the appeal is obvious: volunteer data lives beside fundraising and programs in one CRM, with a vast app ecosystem around it.

The trade-offs are real. The volunteer portal costs extra, an admin or implementation partner is advised, and background checks come through third-party apps rather than natively. It is powerful and flexible, with a real implementation commitment.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: salesforce.com Nonprofit pricing, Volunteer Management and Power of Us pages.

Sterling Volunteers

Visit site

Screening provider · formerly Verified Volunteers (verifiedvolunteers.com redirects here)

Best for
Background checks that many of the platforms above integrate with
Pricing
Advanced $19 and Complete $39 per check, plus a set-up fee and pass-through court fees; unpublished volume pricing above 500 checks a year
Background checks
Screening provider
Screening is its whole product

Sterling Volunteers (formerly Verified Volunteers) is not a coordination tool at all. It is the screening provider that VolunteerHub, Better Impact, Get Connected and other platforms integrate with, and it lets volunteers pay their own fee.

Its Advanced package ($19 a check, plus a set-up fee) includes a seven-year SSN trace, a national database search with possible records checked at the court, a search of the current county or state, a sex-offender registry search and an OFAC watchlist check. Complete ($39) searches every county of residence for seven years and adds aliases. It says most searches return in 48–72 hours, and its registry search excludes Nevada and covers only "predatory" offenders in Oregon.

We include it because no honest map of the category is complete without a screening provider, and because it underlines the structural point of this guide: coordination software and background checks are usually two different purchases.

Sources, read September 12, 2026: sterlingvolunteers.com home, packages and pricing, FAQs and partners pages.

Which volunteer management software is right for you?

There is no universal best — the right tool depends on your size, budget, program type, and existing systems. Here's where each kind of organization tends to land, with jump-links to the relevant profiles above.

A small, all-volunteer nonprofit on a tight budget

If you have a few dozen to a few hundred volunteers and limited budget, start with a free plan and only upgrade when you genuinely outgrow it. A free sign-up tool covers basic scheduling; a free or low-cost platform adds profiles and hour history. Many small organizations run for years on a spreadsheet or their donor database before buying anything — that is a legitimate choice, not a failure.

A large hospital, university, or government volunteer department

High volume, multiple sites, compliance requirements, and many staff administrators point toward a mature, configurable platform with published security evidence. Expect a vendor security review, fingerprint or state checks for some roles, and time spent on onboarding, since healthcare and youth-serving roles carry real legal exposure.

An event, festival, race, or conference

Event-driven programs need fast, flexible shift scheduling, day-of check-in, and bulk texting more than year-round lifecycle management. Look for per-event pricing or strong day-of tooling, and prioritize a clean volunteer-facing experience so hundreds of people can self-serve.

A church, ministry, or faith-based organization

Look first at the church management system you already run: Planning Center, Tithely Church Management (formerly Breeze), Pushpay ChMS and Rock RMS all schedule volunteers and check children in, and each connects to church-focused screening providers. A simple sign-up tool can cover extra events. The non-negotiable piece is screening anyone who works with children, and your denomination, diocese or insurer may name the provider.

A school or student service-hours program

Schools and student-service programs care most about sign-ups and verified hours. Hours trackers and school-oriented sign-up plans fit better than a full platform, and your district's volunteer rules decide who must be screened and how.

An organization already standardized on Salesforce

If your donor and program data already lives in Salesforce, keeping volunteers in the same CRM avoids yet another silo. Budget for an admin or implementation partner and for the volunteer portal, which costs extra, in exchange for near-unlimited flexibility and reporting.

You want volunteers inside your donor CRM

If fundraising already runs your organization, keeping volunteers beside donors avoids another silo. Bloomerang Volunteer syncs natively with Bloomerang's donor CRM, Salesforce includes volunteer management in Nonprofit Cloud, and VolunteerHub and CERVIS (Enterprise) link to Blackbaud. Check which screening partners each supports.

A quick clarification: recruitment marketplaces aren't management software

One source of confusion worth clearing up: services like VolunteerMatch, Idealist, JustServe, and Points of Light Engage are recruitment marketplaces, not management software. They help you list opportunities and reach new volunteers — a discovery and recruitment channel — rather than run the program once people sign up.

Most organizations use a marketplace alongside a management system: the marketplace brings volunteers in the door, and the VMS (and a screening tool) handles everything after they raise their hand. If you only need to find more volunteers, start with a marketplace; if you need to coordinate the ones you have, you need the software profiled above.

Things worth knowing before you buy

  • A spreadsheet or shared sign-up sheet is genuinely enough for many small programs; "you may not need one yet" is a legitimate answer.
  • Start from the software you already run. A church or donor database may already schedule volunteers, and the oldest neutral buyer's guide we found, from Idealware and TechSoup, gives the same advice.
  • Free sign-up tools (SignUpGenius, SignUp.com) are the usual on-ramp; organizations move to a fuller system once they need profiles, hours, and reporting.
  • Watch the pricing model as closely as the price: per record, per active volunteer, per admin, per event or flat tiers can produce very different bills at the same size.
  • Ownership is consolidating. Better Impact bought Galaxy Digital in March 2026 and Momentive bought VolunteerMatters in 2025, so ask an acquired vendor for its roadmap, migration terms and price commitments in writing.
  • Make sure you can export your own data cleanly before you commit.
The gap every buyer should plan around

Coordination software and screening are two different purchases

Read back through the comparison table and one column tells a story: few general platforms run a background check themselves. Among those profiled here, only VolunteerLocal and Golden build a check in; most send the volunteer to a partner such as Sterling Volunteers, Verified First, Checkr, or Asurint, usually on a separate account and invoice. That division of labor is reasonable. It just means the coordination tool alone doesn't tell you what was searched, or whether the person showing up to work with children or vulnerable adults is the person on the application.

Checks also differ more than the software does. A national database search, a county court search, and a fingerprint check are different products, and published per-check prices run from $5 to $140 depending on what is searched. When a state law, licensor, or national organization names a specific check, run that check; a database check can complement it but can't substitute for it. Screening is also a people practice: the Urban Institute's 2004 retention study linked screening and matching, along with recognition and training, to keeping volunteers.

This is the gap VolunteerBadgewas built for. Its operator, ScreenForge Labs, LLC, is an FCRA-regulated Consumer Reporting Agency that has obtained its FCRA Certificate from the Consumer Data Industry Association (CDIA). A $5 check searches more than 650 million court records, every state's sex-offender registry, and federal watchlists, with an SSN trace, and every check follows the FCRA's disclosure and adverse-action steps. Government ID plus live-selfie verification is free with every volunteer application. It is a database check, not a county-of-residence court search or a fingerprint check, and VolunteerBadge has no shift scheduling or kiosk check-in, so most programs run it beside the scheduler or church system they already use. Whatever VMS you pick from this guide, pair it with a deliberate screening plan.

Screen volunteers for $5.

FCRA-regulated background checks plus free government-ID and live-selfie verification on applications — the layer most volunteer management software hands to a partner. Runs beside the platform you already use.

The bottom line

The volunteer management software market is healthy, varied, and — usefully — full of good options at every size and budget. If you take one thing from this guide, let it be that there is no single winner to chase. The right answer is the platform that matches your scale, your pricing tolerance, your program type, and the systems you already run. A small all-volunteer nonprofit and a multi-site hospital system should reach different conclusions, and both can be correct.

Shortlist two or three tools that fit your scenario, run a real demo with your own use case (not the canned one), confirm the pricing model won't punish you for growing, and check that you can export your data. Then make the deliberate decision the category as a whole tends to skip: how you will screen and verify the people you bring on. Coordination software keeps your program organized; a deliberate screening and identity-verification plan helps keep it safe. The best programs invest in both.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best volunteer management software?

There is no single best — it depends on your size, budget, and the systems you already run. For very small or event programs, free plans from SignUpGenius, SignUp.com, POINT, Golden, or Timecounts are common starting points. Hospitals, universities, and public programs tend to look at Volunteer Impact (Better Impact), Volgistics, Get Connected, or Rosterfy; churches should start with the church management system they already run; and organizations on Salesforce can use the volunteer management in Nonprofit Cloud. This guide breaks down the best fit for each scenario.

How much does volunteer management software cost?

As published on September 12, 2026, prices ran from permanent free plans (SignUpGenius, SignUp.com, POINT, Golden, Timecounts) through low entry prices such as Volgistics from $9 a month, SignUpGenius Silver at $8.99 a month billed annually, and CERVIS Basic at $25 a month, to mid-market tiers such as VolunteerHub Plus from $143 a month plus a set-up fee. Better Impact, Get Connected, and Rosterfy publish no prices. Vendors charge per record, per active volunteer, per admin, per event, or by flat tier, so price the plan at your own size.

Does volunteer management software include background checks?

Few platforms run checks themselves. Among the platforms in this guide, VolunteerLocal and Golden build a check in (Golden publishes $20 a check). Most others connect to a separate screening company, usually with its own account and pricing: Sterling Volunteers (VolunteerHub, Better Impact, Get Connected), Verified First (Bloomerang Volunteer, Volgistics, Better Impact), Checkr (POINT, Timecounts), Backgrounds Online (CERVIS Enterprise), or Asurint (Rosterfy). Sign-up tools such as SignUpGenius and SignUp.com run no checks. Plan your screening deliberately rather than inheriting whatever your software offers.

Do small nonprofits even need volunteer management software?

Not always. Many small programs run well on a spreadsheet, a free sign-up tool, or their existing donor or church database, and the oldest neutral buyer's guide we found (Idealware with TechSoup, 2011) advises starting from the software you already have. You typically move to a dedicated system once you need volunteer profiles, hour histories, automated scheduling, and reporting.

How this guide was researched

Product facts come from each vendor's own public pages, read on September 12, 2026, with no demos, trials, quotes, or logins — the same research behind our free guide Apples to Apples. Every price is as published on that date, in U.S. dollars, before tax and pass-through fees, and prices change. Where a vendor publishes no price we say "quote-only" and don't estimate one; where two of a vendor's pages disagree, we say so. We don't include review-site star ratings or user-review quotes, because we couldn't verify them. VolunteerBadge publishes this guide and sells a screening product that competes with some of the vendors here; we've worked to keep every other platform's description fair and accurate. Spot an error? Email support@screenforgelabs.com with a link to the public page that shows it, and we'll correct it.

Keep reading